Skip to main content

Restrictions on non-essential travel to the European Union

Restrictions on non-essential travel to the European Union

The Government of Spain has extended the partial closure of borders until April 30

Council Recommendation EU 2020/912, of June 30, on the temporary restriction of non-essential travel to the European Union and the possible lifting of said restriction established a list of third-party countries whose residents were exempt from travel restrictions to the European Union, as well as a set of specific categories of people also exempt from these restrictions, regardless of their place of origin: European Union Travel Restrictions and Exemptions

This Recommendation has been modified on successive occasions to gradually reduce the list of third-party countries depending on their worsening epidemiological situation. 

Partial border closure until April 30

The new Order will be in effect until April 30, 2021, without prejudice to its eventual modification due to a change in circumstances or new recommendations within the European Union. 

The residents of which countries can enter the European Union?

The Annex that includes the updated list would therefore look like this.

Third-party countries whose residents are not affected by the temporary restriction of non-essential trips to the EU through external borders in the terms set out in this Order:

  1. Australia.

  2. New Zealand.

  3. Rwanda.

  4. Singapore

  5. South Korea.

  6. Thailand..

  7. China ( Hong Kong and Macao* -  principie of reciprocity)

if you need more information about employee expatriation or creating your business in Spain contact us.


This list will be updated in accordance with the guidelines of the EU Council

Restrictions on non-essential travel to the European Union

Any Questions?

If you have any questions or want more information on our services free of any obligation, do get in touch with us and we’ll be happy to help.

Enquire Now!