Skip to main content

Spain Requires Negative PCR for Travelers from 65 Countries

Spain Requires Negative PCR for Travelers from 65 Countries

From November 23, Spain requires negative PCR tests for all travelers from a list of certain countries declared high risk. This measure is in addition to the controls established at airports or ports for all passengers arriving in Spain by sea or air:

  • Temperature measurement to identify passengers with fever
  • Document controls through the Sanitary Control Form
  • Visual control of the passenger's condition

The epidemiological situation has been changing worldwide, for which reason Spain has seen the need to include new measures following the recommendations from the European Union. Here you can read more about the controls completed at Spanish airports and ports since July, since in this post we will focus on the new control measure adopted and published in the Official State Gazette on November 12, 2020.

This is for informative purposes and may vary or be modified according to the recommendations from the European Union. If you need more information about international mobility, we offer you the possibility to get in touch with our professionals.

PCR test when entering Spain

Due to the upward trend in Covid-19 cases, the scope of documentary control has been expanded upon entering Spain: from November 23, a diagnostic test of active infection for SARSCoV-2 with a negative result, taken in the 72 hours prior to arrival, is mandatory for all passengers from risk countries or areas. Basically, the PCR test is required only for travelers who come from the countries on a list drawn up by the Ministry of Health, not for everyone.

The document certifying the result of the PDIA (Active Infection Diagnostic Test) must contain:

  • Traveler's name
  • Passport number, document or national identity card
  • Date of the test
  • Identification and contact details of the center conducting the analysis
  • Technique used and negative test result

Exceptionally, the crew of ships that prove that they have not been able to take the test because they have been onboard a ship are not obligated to provide the results.

The resolution also includes the duty of travel agencies, tour operators, and air transport companies to inform passengers of the obligation to present the Health Control Form and to have a RT-PCR for Covid-19 with a negative result taken within 72 hours before arrival.

What happens if I don't have the PCR test when I arrive in Spain?

Passengers who arrive in Spain from a country declared high risk and do not provide the PCR test with a negative result must take the test established by the foreign health services upon arrival.

In what exceptional cases can the PCR test be required upon arrival in Spain?

  • When a passenger, after the temperature, visual, and documentary controls, instills suspicion that s/he may have Covid-19.

  • If deemed necessary, passengers may also be required to take a PCR test for COVID-19 within 48 hours of arrival, the result of which must be communicated to the Foreign Health Services by the means indicated for this purpose.

In the event that a passenger has a positive result, the health alert protocols established in coordination with the health authorities of the autonomous communities and with the help of administrative bodies if necessary.

From which countries is it mandatory to have a PCR to enter Spain?

The list of countries and areas that require a diagnostic test for active SARS-CoV-2 infection with a negative result from passengers coming from them as a requirement to enter Spain has been established based on two indicators:

  • According to Council Recommendation 2020/1475

  • According to the accumulated incidence of more than 150 per 100,000 inhabitants in 14 days

The list of countries is currently composed of (it will be reviewed every 15 days): 

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Germany, Czechia, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, (except Faroe Islands and Greenland), Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, France, Greece (except Ionia Nisia, Ipeiros, Kriti and Notio Aigaio regions), Hungary , Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway (except Agder, Innlandet, Møre og Romsdal, Nordland, Troms og Finnmark, Vestfold og Telemark and Vestland regions), Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania , Sweden, Albania, US Virgin Islands, Andorra, Israel, Argentina, Jersey (UK), Aruba, Jordan, Barbados, Lebanon, Bahrain, North Macedonia, Belize, Moldova, Belarus, Monaco, Bolivia, Montenegro, Bonaire, Namibia , Bosnia and Herzegovina, Palestine, Brazil, Panama, Canada, French Polynesia, Chile, Puerto Rico, Colombia, United Kingdom, Costa Rica, San Marino, Curaçao, Saint Martin (Netherlands), United Arab Emirates, Serbia, United States of America, South Africa, Eswatini (Swaziland), Switzerland, Russian Federation, Suriname, Georgia, Tunisia, Gibraltar (United Kingdom), Turkey, Seychelles Islands, Ukraine, Turks and Caicos Islands and Uruguay.


Spain Requires Negative PCR for Travelers from 65 Countries

Any Questions?

If you have any questions or want more information on our services free of any obligation, do get in touch with us and we’ll be happy to help.

Enquire Now!