Skip to main content

Coronavirus: Which countries are limiting access to Spaniards?

Coronavirus: Which countries are limiting access to Spaniards?

June 24

  • Countries that impose a mandatory quarantine of 15 days of home isolation on all passengers who come from or have made a layover in Spain are: Azerbaijan, Benin, Cambodia, South Korea, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Finland, Hungary, Iran, Ireland, Iceland, Cook Islands, Lithuania, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, United Kingdom, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Seychelles and Ukraine
  • Countries with other previous measures imposed upon entering the country: Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Belarus, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Estonia, Greece, Italy, Jamaica, Laos, Poland, Tanzania, Turkmenistan and Turkey


How to go home after the coronavirus crisis?

If you are abroad and want to return to Spain, according to the recommendation of the Spanish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the first thing you should do is contact the corresponding Spanish Embassy or Diplomatic Office; these offices will be open 24 hours through the consular emergency contact telephone numbers and on social networks.

Many airlines, apart from increasing their hygiene measures, are cancelling their flights during the month of March due to the health emergency and allowing their customers to change the date of their tickets free of charge.

If you already have your ticket, you should speak to the airline to find out the status of your flight and check the website of the airport you are leaving from as well as the website of the Spanish Aviation Safety Agency to obtain accurate information on prohibitions, limitations, and other measures regarding the mobility of people.

According to the measures adopted last week by the Spanish government, people who are affected by flight or train cancellations have the right to information, assistance, and, where appropriate, reimbursement of the amount paid or alternative transportation.

More serious cases of coronavirus


Complete and indefinite closure of borders with Spain by land, sea, and air.

Since last Friday, March 13, the Moroccan government decreed the closure of its borders with Spain. The Spanish government delegation in Ceuta and Melilla has released an urgent statement so that citizens who wish to may return to our territory. The border with the autonomous cities and the Peninsula are still open.


Closure of borders with Spain

Our neighbouring country has decided to close its borders with Spain as an exceptional measure to stop the advance of the coronavirus in its territory. For the time being, only cross-border workers and the transport of goods may enter Portugal. As a result, the passage is closed for Spaniards travelling for leisure or recreation.

In Spain, the Spanish Ministry of the Interior recommends responsibility for the coronavirus situation and to cancel, as much as possible, organized trips. "Do not travel unless it is essential, avoid crowds and contact with other people.”

Under the cause #QuédateEnCasa #YoMeQuedoEnCasa (#StayAtHome, #IStayAtHome), Spanish society mobilizes to raise awareness among people residing in our country to stay at home and help curb the contagion curve of the Coronavirus. Different artists (singers, actors, writers...) have organized multiple events on social networks to help raise public awareness.

Any Questions?

If you have any questions or want more information on our services free of any obligation, do get in touch with us and we’ll be happy to help.

Enquire Now!